24 in ’24: Doubling Down on the Ransomware Task Force Recommendations

Event | April 24, 2024

The Ransomware Task Force’s annual convening returned this April! Join us on April 24 for 24 in ‘24: Doubling Down on the Ransomware Task Force Recommendations. 

Wednesday, April 24, 2024
10 am – 5 pm ET

Thank you to the Center for Cybersecurity Policy and Law for their support. Interested in becoming a supporter? Get in touch with us.

Ransomware Task Force Co-Chairs: 

  • Michael Daniel, Cyber Threat Alliance 
  • John Davis, Palo Alto Networks
  • Jen Ellis, NextJenSecurity
  • Chris Painter, former cyber diplomat
  • Michael Phillips, CFC Underwriting
  • Philip Reiner, Institute for Security and Technology
  • Megan Stifel, Institute for Security and Technology
  • Kemba Walden, Paladin Global Institute

About the Event

Three years after the original Ransomware Task Force report, ransomware remains a threat to businesses, schools, governments, and individuals. 

As of May 2023, 50% of the Ransomware Task Force’s original 48 recommendations have seen significant progress–but what about the other 24? 

On April 24, we will zero in on those 24 and discuss how we might redouble our efforts to deter ransomware attacks through a nationally and internationally coordinated, comprehensive strategy; disrupt the ransomware business model and reduce criminal profits; help organizations prepare for ransomware attacks; and respond to ransomware attacks more effectively. 


All times listed are in Eastern Time

9:30  Doors open
10:00Introductory remarks
Ari Schwartz, Center for Cybersecurity Policy and Law
Philip Reiner, Institute for Security and Technology and RTF Co-Chair
Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Andrew Boyd, Former Director of CIA’s Center for Cyber Intelligence; Retired Senior CIA Officer; Consultant, Faze 2 Strategy LLC; Institute for Security and Technology Board of Directors
10:25Panel Discussion: Disrupt
Moderator: Kemba Walden, Paladin Global Institute and RTF Co-Chair
Panelists: Amy Hogan-Burney, Microsoft; Brett Leatherman, FBI; Timothy Court, National Crime Agency; Kevin Sherry, Darkweb IQ; Maya Song, Department of Justice (DOJ)
11:15Deter Panel Keynote
David Koh, Commissioner of Cybersecurity and Chief Executive of the Cyber Security Agency of Singapore
11:25Panel Discussion: Deter
Moderator: Christopher Painter, Global Forum on Cyber Expertise and RTF Co-Chair
Panelists: Álvaro Azofra Martínez, European Cybercrime Centre (EC3), Europol; Jennifer Bachus, Department of State, Cyberspace and Digital Policy Bureau; Caitlin Clarke, National Security Council; David Moreno, Organization of American States (OAS); Jeff Morris, Royal Canadian Mounted Police
12:15Fireside Chat
Moderator: Jenna McLaughlin, NPR
Chris Krebs, SentinelOne, and Steve Kelly, Institute for Security and Technology
1:10Panel Discussion: Prepare
Moderator: Maj. Gen. John Davis (ret.), Palo Alto Networks and RTF Co-Chair
Panelists: Bryony Crown, British Embassy; Chris DeRusha, Office of the National Cyber Director; Lisa Plaggemier, National Cybersecurity Alliance; Tony Sager, Center for Internet Security; Nicole Tisdale, Advocacy Blueprints
2:00Fireside Chat
Moderator: Megan Stifel, Institute for Security and Technology and RTF Executive Director
Director Jen Easterly, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, and Craig Newmark, Craig Newmark Philanthropies
2:25Panel Discussion: Respond
Moderator: Michael Daniel, Cyber Threat Alliance and RTF Co-Chair
Panelists: Geoff Brown, Arete; Eric Goldstein, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency; Sonia V. Jimenez, Department of Justice (DOJ); Sandra Joyce, Google Cloud; Kiersten Todt, Wondros
Laura Galante, Intelligence Community’s Cyber Executive and Director of the Cyber Threat Intelligence Integration Center (CTIIC) for the Office of the Director for National Intelligence
3:45Panel Discussion: Payments
Moderator: Michael Phillips, CFC and RTF Co-Chair
Gwenn Cujdik, AXA XL; Jamie MacColl, RUSI; Carolyn Purwin Ryan, Mullen Coughlin LLC; Sezaneh Seymour, Coalition; Jason Somensatto, Chainalysis
4:35Closing Remarks
Michael McNerney, Institute for Security and Technology Board of Directors and Resilience
5:00Event close
Cyber Policy Awards

More speakers to be announced soon!