Combating Ransomware: A Year of Action

Reflections on the Ransomware Task Force’s first year

Special Event:
May 20, 2022: 10:30am – 3:30pm EDT

Over the last year, ransomware attacks continued to plague institutions of all sizes—but thanks in part to the timely and comprehensive recommendations of the Ransomware Task Force, governments were more engaged and organizations are more focused on equipping themselves with the tools and policies needed to counter this threat. As the RTF completed its first year of impact, we hosted for a day of reflections, predictions, and connections on how we can continue to combat ransomware in 2022 and beyond.

The event included a keynote address from U.S. Deputy Attorney General Lisa Monaco, featured fireside chat sessions with current and former CISA directors Jen Easterly and Chris Krebs, respectively; and showcased three focused panel discussions.


10:30 EDT   Introductory Remarks
Ari Schwartz, Executive Director, Cybersecurity Coalition
Phil Reiner, CEO, Institute for Security and Technology
U.S. Senator Gary Peters
Andrew Scurry, UK Home Office
Deputy Attorney General Lisa Monaco
11:15Panel Discussion: Progress in Ransomware Deterrence and Disruption
Moderator: Kemba Walden, Microsoft
Panelists: Jeff Greene, NSC; Eleanor Fairford, NCSC; Chris Painter, GFCE; David Scott, FBI
12:15Fireside Chat
Jen Easterly, CISA and Marc Rogers, Okta
With an Introduction by Craig Newmark
12:50Panel Discussion: Cryptocurrency and Ransomware: Keys to Investigative Success
Moderator: Michael Phillips, Resilience
Panelists: Carole House, NSC; Gurvais Grigg, Chainalysis; Katherine Johnson, Storj; Katelyn Perna, BlockFi
National Cyber Director Chris Inglis
14:15Panel Discussion: Equipping Organizations to Better Prepare and Respond to Ransomware
Moderator: Jen Ellis, Rapid7
Panelists: Eric Goldstein, CISA; Michael Daniel, Cyber Threat Alliance; John Davis, Palo Alto Networks; Phyllis Lee, CIS; Kristin Royster, Bank of America
15:10Fireside Chat
Chris Krebs, Krebs Stamos Group and Megan Stifel, IST
15:30Closing Remarks
Michael McNerney
, Board Chairman, Institute for Security and Technology
15:35Event close