Announcing Finalists for the inaugural Cyber Policy Awards

April 12, 2024 – The Cyber Policy Awards organizing committee is pleased to announce selection of 16 finalists who are in contention to receive “The Atlas” trophy, chosen by an august panel of judges from across the cyber community. The winners in each category will be announced and celebrated at a ceremony in Washington, DC on the evening of April 24, 2024. Submit a request to attend in person

During an open nomination period lasting more than a month, the cyber policy community was invited to submit an individual, small group, or organization who demonstrated impact during 2023 in U.S. domestic policy, international policy, ecosystem championship, or philanthropy. After careful review of 43 submissions, the judges have selected four finalists per award category.

“I’m thrilled by the quality of the nominations and the positive impact they represent,” said organizing committee chairman Steve Kelly. “I can’t wait to watch as the winners are revealed and celebrate alongside them.” The finalists are listed below in no particular order:

The U.S. Domestic Policy Impact Award

  • Josh Corman for effective and tireless community building and advocacy for cyber safety in many forms
  • David Grossman for leadership in U.S. consumer connected device cybersecurity policy
  • The U.S. Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation for changing the calculus of malicious cyber actors through the novel use of law enforcement tools in carrying out cyber disruption operations
  • Rob Knake, Harry Krejsa, Drenan Dudley, and Nick Leiserson for influencing the trajectory of U.S. cyber policy through the National Cybersecurity Strategy and implementation plan

International Policy Impact Award

  • Tal Goldstein for international leadership through the World Economic Forum’s Partnership Against Cybercrime initiative
  • The Honorable Chris Inglis for thought leadership while the inaugural National Cyber Director and influence among allies and partners
  • Michele Markoff for her pivotal role in establishing the international cyber stability framework
  • The Tallinn Mechanism for supporting Ukraine’s self defense in cyberspace and longer-term cyber resiliency

Ecosystem Champion Award

  • Office of the Director of National Intelligence, Cyber Threat Intelligence Integration Center’s Office of Analytic Integration for improving understanding of the ransomware threat and enabling domestic and international policymaking and actions
  • The U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office of Cybersecurity and Critical Infrastructure Protection for enabling cyber and operational resiliency within the financial services sector
  • Deputy National Security Advisor Anne Neuberger, Federal Communication Commission Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel, and National Institute of Standards and Technology Director Laurie Locascio for championing connected device cybersecurity through the U.S. Cyber Trust Mark program
  • The National Institute of Standards and Technology’s Cybersecurity Framework Team for helping organizations of all sizes manage cyber risk by publishing a landmark revision to the Cybersecurity Framework (CSF 2.0)

Cyber Philanthropy/ist of the Year Award

  • Dmitri Alperovitch for incubating cutting-edge cyber policy research and creating premier master’s and doctoral cyber programs
  • The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation for increasing public understanding of cyber issues, supporting the talent pipeline, and building institutional capacity to deliver policy solutions through the decade-long Hewlett Cyber Initiative
  • Craig Newmark for advancing the global digital ecosystem’s safety, security, and the rule of law through the Cyber Civil Defense initiative
  • The Cisco team for supporting the defense of Ukraine’s power grid from Russian attacks through Project PowerUp